Field trip to Prince Lumber!

20130426-004651.jpg
After a discussion yesterday with the Parsons woodshop guy, Vinny, I decided on how I was going to build my little platform for the show. Unfortunately it seemed to be a bigger, and more costly endeavor than I expected. Vinny suggested getting the lumber ordered and delivered to school. The place that would do that for me in the city is Prince Lumber located on 15th and 9th.

After talking with my thesis show neighbors and classmates, Youmna and Daniela they also decided they needed a platform for their project. Today we went together on a field trip to spend more money on thesis.

Prince Lumber has really great customer service. I talked with Phil, and he helped us figure out what we needed. After showing him my drawing and diagram, explaining what it was for, going back and forth through some confusing conversations about structure, and taking many trips in and out to see different types of plywood we finally came to a conclusion. Phil was very patient with us and I thank him for that! He showed me options I had but also kept in mind that we were on a budget and spending money on something we didn’t plan on having and something we will not be keeping after the show. They will be cutting our pieces down to size and then delivering to us tomorrow morning sometime between 9am and 12pm. This means having an unusually early start to my day!
On my way home I stopped at my other professor, Claudia’s apartment because I mentioned I needed to locate a drill to build this contraption and she had one! Amazing. I’m not sure if I will be building anything tomorrow, but I will definitely go looking for the right screws and supplies I need. I also think going to have to get some sanding supplies and something to finish the surface.

20130426-005714.jpg
Just a pic of my essentials: Wallet, check. Computer, check. Notebook, check. Drill? Check.

Leave a Reply

