Buying Birch

20130312-035406.jpg
This is a late post from this weekend. After feeling the need to just get some material to work with rather than keep looking at it online I decided to go to Home Depot. Living in Manhattan also means the need to leave the city to get some real lumber. I ventured to QUEENS on to buy some wood. Not just any wood but 1/4″ thick, 4′ x 8′ plywood. With an XL Ikea bag in my bag I was prepared to get my wood, get them to cut it and carry it back home with me on the subway. It took me about 30 minutes on the R train to get there then walked about a quarter of a mile to the store on Northern Boulevard. Once I got there I asked for help and the guy “didn’t see” the 1/4″ birch, but I did. I showed him my drawing and he enlisted the help of a fellow worker to make my cuts.

20130312-035503.jpg

20130312-035510.jpg
It was quite a scene as they looked at me like “You’re gonna carry this yourself back to the city?” Indeed I did. It was a little heavy but as I rejected the Taxi offers at the door, wrapped my pieces in string to keep them together and carried it out the door, I felt good to just have some material to look at and work with.

20130312-035600.jpg
Now of seems I may not be able to use the birch ply but, it will be great for prototyping some things out. I also made the journey to Queens and back to manhattan with wood on my shoulders and in my hands. Whether I use it or not, I proved to myself I am fully capable of getting things done on my own. All I have to do is try.

Leave a Reply

