“It Takes a Village” by Hillary Rodham Clinton

Louisa recommended this book to me so today I went to Bobst to pick it up. I started reading it on the subway ride home and I thought it was very relevant to my current themes I am tossing around. Although they are not yet concrete, I am talking about family relationships, family dinner conversation, and possibly my relationship to my mother.

In the first couple pages Hillary states the title comes from an African proverb. She writes:

I chose that old African proverb to title this book because ti offers a timeless reminder that children will thrive only if their families thrive and if the whole of society cares enough to provide for them. (Page 12)

Hillary goes on to further explain that the “village” today is no longer a specific place and now we have a “modern village.”

The village can no longer be defined as a place on a map, or a list of people or organizations, but its essence remains the same: it is the network of values and relationships that support and affect our lives.”

I see my family as my village and I want to read more about the villages Hillary has to talk about.

Leave a comment